Random Strangeness

I don’t like standard beauty – there is no beauty without strangeness.  ~ Karl Lagerfeld

I like all kinds of beauty, but there is something about strange beauty that stops me in my tracks. The other day I was in the middle of the woods on a new hike… I turned the corner and this cat… a domestic cat, was just hanging out. It was so weird to see a calm cat in the middle of the forest. It kind of made my day, got me thinking about how strange and wonderful this world is.

I have way too many fall photos and can’t seem to keep up , so I got busy collaging.

I love this nut/seed ? I’m not sure what it is? Do you know? I just adore the shape, color contrast, and bursting seams.

Can you see these little gems? I named them fairy flies, it was tricky to get any of these strange floating bugs to come into focus -

This leaf is amazing, it would take me forever to paint something similar, those lines and textures and colors decaying into a masterpiece <3

I love this one too, the curls are like a roller coaster ride -

I could not stop taking photos of this color filled moss, I can’t get enough of it -

Lately I feel like a squirrel running all over the woods gathering 100’s of photos hoping to have enough nourishment.

Here are way too many photos of a fat squirrel that reminds me of me -

, , ,

  1. #1 by Susan D on November 10, 2011 - 5:46 pm

    Wow he is a fat little squirrel – other than his curiosity and scurrying, I see no resemblance :) Christine all of these photos are amazing and I wish I could pour all of my inquiry into this comment box for each one…you ignite a light inside of me that lies in the ashes waiting for a breeze to burst into a full flame…thank you for being that breeze. I love you ~s

  2. #2 by Hilary on November 10, 2011 - 6:49 pm

    Your photos, as always are beautiful Christine. I love your fairy flies and everything else you see with your wonderfrul eye.

  3. #3 by pattisj on November 10, 2011 - 8:28 pm

    This is the first year I’ve seen squirrels here with reddish underbellies. Love how you captured those dainty flies, that couldn’t have been easy. Great leaves, no two alike. Collage was a great way to share them.

  4. #4 by jeanie on November 10, 2011 - 9:49 pm

    More lovelies, but those squirrels and that cat get me most of all! Love the fairy flies!

  5. #5 by Kitty Danke Rothwell on November 10, 2011 - 10:19 pm

    They are hickory nuts Christine.

  6. #6 by Cyndy Godbe Oliver on November 10, 2011 - 10:33 pm

    You have such a great eye! These are wonderful, and what I really love is the attention to the incredible beauty of the small things—Fairy flies, the tendrils of webs that traverse the fungus cattail thingy things amongst the moss, the beautiful wavy pattern of a curling leaf and the geometry of the hickory nut shell… Thanks for sharing the way you see the world with me. It’s so refreshing to see the tiny small moments up close.

  7. #7 by Amy on November 11, 2011 - 7:22 am

    i love the way that cat is looking at you, as if you are the one who is out of place, wondering what you are doing in the middle of the forest

  8. #8 by Sheila on November 11, 2011 - 7:32 am

    Amy’s comment is great. Love all the colors of fall.

  9. #9 by ladyfi on November 11, 2011 - 8:52 am

    So many masterpieces of hidden beauty here for us to enjoy. Even your fingernail with the light shining through it is lovely!

  10. #10 by ZORRO on November 11, 2011 - 9:15 am

    Love the shots!!… WOW, you got the fairies!!!!! besos!

  11. #11 by Shea on November 11, 2011 - 6:11 pm

    First smile i’ve had all day. thank you for all this strangeness. more real than most of what i experience….
    i wish i could be so small sometimes…
    xo

  12. #12 by Marcie on November 12, 2011 - 4:54 pm

    Such a beautiful collection of autumn images. Especially love those floating fairies. And – I can so appreciate the overload of pix at this time of year..gotta get it before it all disappears!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

