A Simple State of Being

Birds are a miracle because they prove to us there is a finer, simpler state of being which we may strive to attain. ~ Doug Coupland

I can sit for hours staring out the window watching the birds, I wonder what this one is staring at?

The tree with all my feeders get’s pretty crowded on the snowy days.

This one needs a napkin.

I was zoomed in with my camera watching this mourning dove fall asleep on the branch.

I just love their blue eyelids.

We both were surprised when this one flew in and landed right by his side!?

The jays were being fairly nice to the others ~ surprised me.

The titmouse are so skittish. They rarely sit in one spot for long? I’m determine to get a good shot of these beauties someday. Maybe that’s why I sit by the window for hours bird watching, I love a challenge.

Sometimes I feel like some of the birds are looking right back at my with something important to say.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by pattisj on December 28, 2011 - 4:06 pm

    Loved looking at your birds. I don’t spend as much time observing the birds from my window. We haven’t had many yet this year. As the temps drop, more will be moving this way. If it has to be cold, at least we’ll have dark-eyed juncos to share it with. I look forward to their return each winter. TItmice are hard to photograph, they go very quickly about their business.

  2. #2 by sandy on December 28, 2011 - 4:50 pm

    Hey, we have the same birds! Mine have just started showing up in past few days. How about yours?

  3. #3 by Susan D on December 28, 2011 - 9:39 pm

    Your little woodpecker reminds me of the ones in the tree back in the wash…except it seems so small…I wish I were watching out the window with you :)

  4. #4 by Jenny on December 29, 2011 - 2:58 am

    I love these! I would love to order an copy of that last one, Christine. So pretty.

  5. #5 by Marcie on December 29, 2011 - 5:25 pm

    I’m amazed at all of the beautiful birds you have..in spite of the winter cold and snow. What beautiful..beautiful images!! Wishing you a year filled with creativity and light!!! Happy New Year!!!

  6. #6 by Frank on December 29, 2011 - 9:31 pm

    Beautiful images as always. That junco in the last pic is a little beauty. The birds do indeed have a lot to teach us.

  7. #7 by leslie on December 30, 2011 - 11:17 am

    coming over from elk’s link this morning… and so glad i did. love the quote AND your beautiful photos…

  8. #8 by beth on December 30, 2011 - 2:03 pm

    thank you for your lovely card and these images…..our winter birds are avoiding us so far….maybe soon they’ll wise up and realize we have food for them……xo

  9. #9 by elk2 on December 30, 2011 - 10:09 pm

    amazing captures ! such a beauty filled gift here today ~ happy 2012 to you!!

  10. #10 by Jennifer Richardson on December 31, 2011 - 8:13 am

    so nice to find you (thank you ELK!)
    …bright beautiful beginnings to you
    as the new year draws near:)
    -Jennifer

  11. #11 by ZORRO on January 3, 2012 - 9:57 am

    Your a beautiful bird!… besos!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

