My Messenger

Messenger

My work is loving the world.
Here the sunflowers, there the hummingbird —
equal seekers of sweetness.
Here the quickening yeast; there the blue plums.
Here the clam deep in the speckled sand.

Are my boots old? Is my coat torn?
Am I no longer young, and still not half-perfect? Let me
keep my mind on what matters,
which is my work,

which is mostly standing still and learning to be
astonished.
The phoebe, the delphinium.
The sheep in the pasture, and the pasture.
Which is mostly rejoicing, since all ingredients are here,

which is gratitude, to be given a mind and a heart
and these body-clothes,
a mouth with which to give shouts of joy
to the moth and the wren, to the sleepy dug-up clam,
telling them all, over and over, how it is
that we live forever.

~ Mary Oliver ~

It was one of those rare weather afternoons … pouring rain and the sun was shining through. I was on the porch, staying dry, having fun with my camera …I didn’t get many photos. My 13-year-old dog (who still thinks he is 2) found one of his toys and jogged over. Who could resist that face. He can hardly get up some mornings, his arthritis is awful, yet when he is outside with his toys he forgets all of that.

I put down my camera and got soaking wet playing fetch in the rain with my dog, it was so worth it. Sunrise has been a constant messenger for me to play, to drop everything I think I need to do, to let go and have some real FUN!

Who (or what) is your Messenger?
,

  1. #1 by Susan D on March 5, 2012 - 11:03 pm

    Sunrise is a beautiful messenger….thank you Sunrise for inspiring Christine to be my messenger…I got your message…my love to both of you <3

  2. #2 by ladyfi on March 5, 2012 - 11:52 pm

    Oh, this is so very beautiful!

  3. #3 by sandy on March 6, 2012 - 7:03 am

    I loved everything about this post! Mary Oliver is a favorite, the photos were great, and seeing that you realize what a gift that old dog is.

  4. #4 by Amy on March 6, 2012 - 7:46 am

    oh your sweet puppy ~ he looks the same! in photos, it seems he never ages. love u

  5. #5 by Gretchen Cochran on March 6, 2012 - 10:03 am

    The day when it was raining and misty and the sun was shining, I thought of you. I just knew you would be out in it. Taking pictures, I thought. But instead, just savoring. What a fine example you are.

  6. #6 by Shea on March 6, 2012 - 10:15 am

    the lines of the rain … wow

  7. #7 by ZORRO on March 6, 2012 - 10:29 am

    …like I was there… beautiful. Besos querida!

  8. #8 by pattisj on March 7, 2012 - 8:44 pm

    Good for you!

  9. #9 by Marcie on March 10, 2012 - 3:46 pm

    FUN!!! What a wonderful idea..and I love Mary Oliver. So inspiring!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

