Art Supplies & Shelves

cookie cutters on a metal shelveI’m so excited ~~~ This is a ‘supply sculpture’ I just put together in my new studio space. I use these cookie cutters I’ve collected over the years for painting and batiking projects. When I took them out of a packing box and tossed them on the table, my eye caught the light bouncing off the metal sides and I just knew I needed to find a place to see that everyday. My husband helped me fuss around with these metal shelves and we eventually found just the right placement. I love playing around and finding interesting ways to display my stuff and boy do I have a lot of art stuff.

Acrylic Paint Tubes Pallet Knifes
Paint Brushes Colored Pencils

I’ve been buried in boxes and house painting projects for so long, it’s such a relief to finally be unpacking and sorting some of my favorite things. I can’t wait to be painting an actual painting, just looking at all my raw materials lights me up inside. I don’t think of myself as having an addictive personality, I seem to find moderation in many of my lifestyle choices. Yet when it comes to art supplies…I’m completely hooked on the stuff.

dirty shelves ready to paint freshly painted

(click on the photos above to see a larger version)

These shelves we’re too dirty to put in my freshly painted studio space, so I thought a quick coat of white paint would clean them up. Three coats later they are finally ready. It is taking much longer than I ever imagined to set up my new studio. I was frustrated about this for days! Yesterday it finally dawned on me that I actually have the space and the time to sort till my heart’s content, so rather than rushing the process, I am soaking up the opportunity and have settled into a slow rhythm of contemplation and clutter clearing as I design my new playground.

Giant Oil PastelsP.S. I’m just amazed at how inspiring a photo of art supplies can be. This photo I took months ago of gooey oil pastels gives me a zing of energy every time I look at it. I think about having so much fun using what I see in front of me. I am instantly transported to a that zen like space I fall into when I choose to create with my hands.

What inspires your creative process?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by pattisj on March 22, 2011 - 12:38 pm

    For me, just getting into the room with the art supplies is inspirational. There’s usually a small collection of “found” objects on my desk that get placed there during ordinary tasks, like sorting the mail. I start by clearing the desk and putting those things away, and more than likely stumble onto something that I must use, and so, the process has begun. Other times I find inspiration in a new (or old) book of techniques that I want to try. I do like your cookie cutters! They were made to be displayed. Yes, enjoy the process of putting your room together (it ALWAYS takes longer than thought). At least, that’s how it is with ours. Now if you’ll excuse me, those colored pencils you posted remind me that I have some that need to be held!

  2. #2 by ZORRO on March 22, 2011 - 4:01 pm

    You are so addicted to art, I love it!!!

  3. #3 by jeanie on March 22, 2011 - 5:48 pm

    Sad to say, but deadlines inspire my creative process. Otherwise… it’s just catch as catch can! But oh, I do like putzing about in the art room organizing — looks like you do, too — what a terrific space. I know what you mean about seeing photos of art supplies. I love them, too, and love to see how people pull things together! Lovely, my friend — when can I see it in person?!

    • #4 by Christine M Young on April 2, 2011 - 4:53 pm

      I love that you shared how deadlines inspire, I’m setting up some new ones for myself. Also, you welcome to stop by the studio anytime, I’m hoping to have an open house evening soon 🙂

  4. #5 by sarah cronkhite on March 22, 2011 - 10:59 pm

    Reading your blog posts!

    • #6 by Christine M Young on March 23, 2011 - 11:00 am

      Thanks Sarah! Looking forward to creating with you this afternoon 🙂

  5. #7 by Sharon Reynolds on March 22, 2011 - 11:09 pm

    Christine,

    Congrats on being completely engrossed in something you are so passionate about! Enjoy and “live” in the moment(s)!

    I am very happy for you,

    Sharon

  6. #8 by Amy on March 23, 2011 - 7:47 am

    it brings me such joy to read a blog post from you about creativity ~ … to me the art posts have something extra magic of christine in them 🙂 the supply sculpture is fantastic and i can’t wait to see photos of your studio space.

  7. #9 by ellen abbott on March 23, 2011 - 9:55 am

    I love the way you have lined up the cookie cutters. and your winter wonders photos are, well, just wonderful.

    thanks for visiting my blog.

  8. #10 by Cy on March 23, 2011 - 11:37 am

    Christine, I especially love the bottom picture, because of the wonderful *smells* that emit from an art studio (oils are my favorite)! You’re a lucky girl to be able to enjoy the contemplative process of putting a space together, and I’m looking forward to seeing a neat painting (or some such other creation) manifest from this process. 🙂

  9. #11 by ladyfi on March 24, 2011 - 10:13 am

    That top picture is fabulous! And the oils are just lovely too… I get inspired when I walk in the woods or see a beautiful sky.

  10. #12 by rachel awes on March 24, 2011 - 12:27 pm

    great to “meet” you!
    your post/photos/words are beautiful!
    sending love to your finding & losing yourself! xo

Leave a Reply

