Searching for Words

Women are born angels. And when someone breaks our wings we simply continue to fly . . . on a broomstick. Be warned. We are flexible like that.I love this quote that my friend Cheryl posted on Facebook last week. My moods have been swinging around like this lately… one moment I’m an angel, the next moment I’m a bitchy brat.

I can’t seem to find the right words to match my moods, never mind matching up with the many photos I’ve taken over the past few weeks. So I put off posting because some part of me thinks, if I just work hard enough, it could be perfect – aarrrggghh!

Hoarfrost WeedWeed VineMilk Weed

This morning after wandering around taking more photos of the weeds and hoarfrost, I was back on Facebook enjoying the swirl of connection with my social media circles and I read an amazing poem by my friend Tim and his words seemed to say or not say something similar to what I’ve been experiencing –

Blahh…

by Timothy Fullerton

For reasons known only to the gnomes living
under the boxwood in our yard,
I simply do not want to write today.
My words are ready,
like extras in a film, waiting for the call
to the set.
Lately, I feel that they’ve
lost their punch,
become boring,
recondite.
I won’t write just to do it,
throwing words into battle like
literary cannon fodder,
just to say I’ve done something.
So, I just don’t want to write today.
“Fukkit” says the brain.
I concur.
Fukkit.
I’ll read.
Put my feet up.
Look out the window.
Pick my nose.
Scratch.
Today,
I just don’t want to write.
I send the cast home,
buy them pizza and rent a movie
for them.
They wanted ‘Busty Beach Bangers 3’
They got “Sound of Music”.
They’ll live.
I’m going to meditate in
the yard and watch the birds.
We are both trying not to freeze
our asses off in this chilly
March wind.

© TF27MAR2011

Two BirdsSparkling Cardinal

My friend Beth’s beautiful post on her blog gave me the courage to begin this post… willing to share anything that is ready to pour out rather than trying too hard to find the ‘right’ words to wrap my photos in. I think I landed somewhere in the middle??

I ache to create beauty and there is no formula that guarantees I will create something beautiful, but I have to keep reminding myself to begin. I’m grateful for my cyber space circle of friends who continue to show up in weird wonderful ways and encourage me to begin.

My photos are not perfect and my words seem strange but it feels good to share anyways.

P.S.  I’d love it if you clicked on the Facebook button below to share this post with your friends… I’m having fun expanding my cyber circle 🙂

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by pattisj on March 29, 2011 - 1:33 am

    I love to see the wondrous things you find to photograph and share with us.

  2. #2 by ZORRO on March 29, 2011 - 10:16 am

    I love you little Fire Dragon Fairy… what a cool post, and again… incredible photos!!
    Z!

  3. #3 by Susan on March 29, 2011 - 2:52 pm

    Like a beautiful flower that reaches for the sun – no matter the weight of the rain or a late spring snow storm – you will find the sunshine my beautiful friend! Thank you for sharing…all of you. It really is my own inspiration in those similar days when I feel lost and alone 🙂 I love you! S

    • #4 by Christine M Young on March 30, 2011 - 9:21 am

      “Like a beautiful flower that reaches for the sun – no matter the weight of the rain or a late spring snow storm – you will find the sunshine” Wow you sure found some beautiful words!

  4. #5 by Connie King on March 29, 2011 - 5:18 pm

    Sometimes photos are just enough!
    connie

  5. #6 by ladyfi on March 31, 2011 - 5:15 am

    Photos don’t need to be perfect to move us with their wonder and beauty! Yours are fabulous.

  6. #7 by Hilary on March 31, 2011 - 10:16 pm

    Perfection doesn’t exist but beauty sure does and you’ve captured that for sure.

  7. #8 by jeanie on April 1, 2011 - 4:08 pm

    I, for one, appreciate knowing my blog friends for who they are, which isn’t always perfect, sparkling, witty, or whatever! Some days are just like that (I could really relate to this particular post and poem!) and it’s OK to share that. You’re wonderful, Christine. Be you and the rest is bonus points!

Leave a Reply

