Birds Galore (part 1 Patience)

“For me, the vast marvel is to be alive. For man, or for flowers or beast or bird, the supreme triumph is to be most vividly and perfectly alive.”So far this spring 100’s of birds have migrated into my new neighborhood. I keep finding myself draw outside to see if I can get a good shot. I’ve spent so much time sitting on the ground waiting for a bird to turn its head to just the right angle or catch just the right light… I sometimes need to slowly stand up and perhaps shuffle quietly without spooking my quarry… then I have to breathe deep and slow to make sure I am as still as possible when my lens is fully extended. I’ve even begun to feel my arms getting tired and cramped as I hold my arms up for so long, hoping my prey does not fly away as I compose my shot. Who knew birding would be such a workout!

Red Breasted Robin Finch?Backyard Bird Northern Cardinal

(Click on any of the above shots to see a larger version)

When I get back inside… I head to the computer anxious to see which of my shots might be worth saving and sharing. It’s like Christmas when I click on the ones that have some kind of mood or magic  happening.

This couple has been courting on my deck for a week, it is so fun to watch the dance the male does. I’ve yet to capture it, but I’ll keep at it.

Bird Couple

As I learn to be patient with the birds. I’ve noticed that any bird, no matter how common, can have extraordinary beauty.

warbler or sparrow?red crown matches the red branches

What has your patience rewarded you with lately?

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by pattisj on April 2, 2011 - 1:18 pm

    Great pictures. I love to watch bird behavior, especially during mating season.
    Patience with myself has eased a lot of self-imposed stress. I used to make to-do lists a mile long and expect to accomplish everything. “Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.”* I have learned a lot from birds.
    Matthew 6:26 (The Bible)

  2. #2 by Jillsy Girl on April 2, 2011 - 4:32 pm

    Christine ~ Thank you for stopping by and saying hi at my place! I’ve just taken a little time to peruse your latest posts, and it was like I was reading about myself…really! Your words match my thoughts. Most of the time I’m awful about writing, especially words to accompany photos, but other times, the words flow right out (I just wish that happened more often!). I think we share several interests. I’m adding you to my reader now ~ Love your photography!

    • #3 by Christine M Young on April 2, 2011 - 4:48 pm

      Thanks Jillsy! I was just looking at your blog tour and love the photo collage, makes me wonder if should have chose blogspot?? I’m sure once I learn how to use more options in WordPress, I’ll be happy with the results, they all seem to have advantages and disadvantages 🙂

  3. #4 by jeanie on April 2, 2011 - 4:35 pm

    Oh, I do love birds, and you have certainly captured these — but I’m not sure which is harder: birding or being a wonderful photographer (and a patient one!).

    I’ve not been terribly patient these days, but it will come. I know!

  4. #5 by beth on April 2, 2011 - 5:18 pm

    your photos are beautiful and i know that feeling of christmas….oh please let me get the photo i saw in my head 🙂
    and that mating dance….oh lord. they are all doing that dance around here lately 🙂

  5. #7 by rachel awes on April 3, 2011 - 6:15 am

    these photos are beautiful!
    what breathtaking sights, such varied, puffed bellies, light feathers, dear birds!
    yesyesyes to LIFE! xo

  6. #8 by Cy on April 3, 2011 - 10:57 pm

    Christine, as always, you’ve inspired another photo project from me! Just as soon as I purchase my dream camera (perhaps next month, a Canon 5D Mark II), I’m gonna be “out in the field” almost every day. My favorite shot this time around was the lil’ guy at the bottom. 🙂

    • #9 by Christine M Young on April 4, 2011 - 10:35 am

      Thanks Cy! I’m so excited that you will soon have your dream camera. I love my camera and hope to find a class soon to learn how to use all the techy digital options 🙂

  7. #10 by Zorro on April 4, 2011 - 1:37 pm

    Awesome baby!!… what great shots!

Leave a Reply

