Birds Galore (part 3 – Big Birds)

"You can't be suspicious of a tree, or accuse a bird or a squirrel of subversion or challenge the ideology of a violet." Hal Borland

The bigger birds like the bigger feeders…. so do the squirrels! It drives my husband crazy when the squirrels knock all the seed out of a feeder. Sometimes I run outside or send my dog out to scare away the intruder… usually, I just watch how curious and clever they can be.

squirrel on top of bird feederblue jay at a big feederlady cardinal at a big feederwoodpecker feeding on suet feedersquirrel stretching over feederlady cardinal on the lookout for a squirrel

I love the photo of this cardinal, just like my husband, she seems to be on the lookout for the dreaded squirrel.

Speaking of big birds, have you seen these eagles hatching:

I’ve been in awe of this Decorah Eagle project. The website has lots more to share… “The nest was built in 2007 and is plenty large for the family weighing in at 1.5 tons, and measuring six feet across and six feet deep. The size of the nest exceeds that of a Volkswagen Beetle.” To get some perspective on the size check out this link:

http://www.kodakgallery.com/gallery/creativeapps/slideShow/Main.jsp?sourceId=533754321803&cm_mmc=Affilate_-_CJ_-_4166869_-_10667555

There is one more egg to hatch the live feed is here:

http://www.ustream.tv/decoraheagles

Feel free to click on the buttons below to share this post with your friends 🙂

, , , ,

  1. #1 by pattisj on April 6, 2011 - 12:06 pm

    I like looking at your bird pictures. Squirrels are so much fun to watch, unless they’re emptying the feeder, of course. Great eagle video. I love how she gets the eggs lined up and sways side to side like she’s rocking her babies.

  2. #2 by ZORRO on April 6, 2011 - 2:07 pm

    Love the pics!!!

  3. #3 by Amy on April 6, 2011 - 5:07 pm

    what beautiful detail you captured on the blue jay! and the squirrel hanging upside down makes me laugh, thank you

    • #4 by Christine M Young on April 6, 2011 - 5:12 pm

      your welcome 🙂 thanks for all your support & encouragement in my blogging journey ~ love U

  4. #5 by Susan D on April 6, 2011 - 11:37 pm

    Patience is enjoying my journey as it is and loving all of the rose petals that appear like blogs from friends afar and the touch of my husbands hand caressing my back. My adventures have been close to home and searching out local treasures lately. I love that the squirrel ventures onto the bird feeder..who are we to say that he must stay away…maybe he believes that you have placed the feeder out for him and he is sending those silly birds away! I miss you and love all that you share – thank you!

  5. #6 by Jillsy Girl on April 7, 2011 - 10:00 am

    aww…that poor little guy looks like he’s getting squished. absolutely amazing!

    my hubby is the same way about the squirrels. he’s tired of trying to feed the squirrels instead of the birds.

    thanks for kicking off the blue row!

  6. #7 by ladyfi on April 7, 2011 - 10:19 am

    That bird with the blue scales is fabulous! And way to go – squirrel! Great shots!

  7. #8 by beth on April 8, 2011 - 8:37 am

    personally, i like the squirrels better than the birds at the moment. they have so much more personality !!!
    and i’m so addicted to the eagles it’s pathetic……

  8. #9 by lissa on April 8, 2011 - 8:17 pm

    the bird with the blue feather has such a nice pattern to them

    have a great day.

  9. #10 by jeanie on April 9, 2011 - 2:53 pm

    You have quite a lens on you, my dear! Stunning — as are the Decorah eagles — I’ve been watching, too.

    • #11 by Christine M Young on April 9, 2011 - 7:49 pm

      I love my camera and just took a class this afternoon in downtown Lansing to learn how to use more than the auto mode, it was great!

      My feeders are also emptying fast, I just read that during migration in Spring and Fall the birds eat more 🙂

  10. #12 by Jennifer on April 11, 2011 - 11:40 pm

    you photographs are stunning. you have captured these birds so beautifully. i have always had a fear of birds but with in the past two months i have started to love them. seeing the eagles on line is just so cool. i love watching them. thank you so much for sharing these beautiful photos.

Leave a Reply

