Reflections

beautiful branch in the rain

It was gray and rainy so I wandered out for a hike without my camera. I did not want to get it wet. After a few hundred yards I turned around and ran back to get it. The drops of water hanging on the branches were so beautiful.

tree drop reflectiontrail drop reflectionpine branch reflection

The reflection that each drop holds is like a little snow globe world.

“The water reflects our spirit. In Zen it is said that the whole moon and sky are reflected in a drop of dew on the grass. Each the whole.”

I read this passage in After the Ecstasy, the Laundry by Jack Kornfield and it reminded me of these photos. I love how such a small drop can reflect the expansive world beyond the drop, it seems impossible, yet there it is.

pine drop reflection pine cone dropice pine dropsfan of drops

My camera survived the rain, my husband ( who is an amazing videographer, and has to shoot in all kinds of weather ) taught me this trick, it’s not fool proof but in a pinch it keeps things fairly dry. I cut a hole in the corner of a plastic bag and then another hole to see through the view finder.

camera in plastic bag

It’s been a gray, rainy and cold spring but there is still so much beauty to find and share.

What have you found lately?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Juana on April 17, 2011 - 11:25 pm

    Hi! My name is Juana, and I found you while visiting Jillsy’s blog. You have some amazing photographs here…I will have to come back and browse some more!! LOVELY!!

  2. #2 by pattisj on April 18, 2011 - 1:12 am

    The plastic bag looks like a great idea! You stated it so well in regard to the reflection and little snow globe world. Beauty is everywhere, we just have to look for it. Thanks for sharing what you found.

  3. #3 by Amy on April 18, 2011 - 7:01 am

    the whole world in a drop ~ so beautiful ~ i love how you captured the drops mid-fall

  4. #4 by Gretchen Cochran on April 18, 2011 - 9:57 am

    These rain drop photos are feasts for the eye. I’ve never seen any as lovely. So glad you went back for your camera. While today is drab and gray, thanks to you I will look for the beauty in the tiny details.

  5. #5 by Cy on April 18, 2011 - 10:59 am

    Christine, the camera class you recently took is making a big difference in your photos…that last shot is supreme! Really enjoying your use of shallow depth of field. 🙂
    Beyond technical jargon of course, it’s been neat to see you get up close and personal with the raindrops. Isn’t it amazing what one can find in the reflections?

  6. #6 by sarah on April 18, 2011 - 11:23 am

    so cool.

  7. #7 by ladyfi on April 18, 2011 - 1:23 pm

    Oh, what enchanting reflections in those raindrops! Superb shots.

    I’ll have to remember the plastic bag trick…

  8. #8 by Susan Duffield on April 18, 2011 - 1:32 pm

    Oh Christine…even before I read your words I was enthralled with the amazing images coming from the drops! My words can not express how much I appreciate your photos and thoughts, how much they open my heart to see how even the smallest gifts on this planet hold such enormous beauty and delight …. my words are like a drop and I hope that you can see the size of my appreciation through it! So much inspiration I saved a small bug from being squashed by my big hand and found a beautiful design/pattern on his wings as I placed it outside my door to fly away…thank you my friend – always!

  9. #9 by deb taylor on April 19, 2011 - 11:34 am

    I found YOU, here. This blog is beautiful…what a gift! and oh those droplets! Stunning photos!

  10. #10 by Natalia Festa on April 19, 2011 - 12:44 pm

    Me encantan tus fotos!! 🙂
    Muestran a la perfeccion la belleza de la naturaleza!!!

    I love your pictures! 🙂
    Show to perfection the beauty of nature!

  11. #11 by red or gray on April 19, 2011 - 3:34 pm

    i am so happy to see each reflection in each drop … just stunning ..intricate while simple

  12. #12 by rachel awes on April 20, 2011 - 2:05 pm

    i love your raindrop photos so much!
    LOVELY. xo

  13. #13 by beth on April 21, 2011 - 3:08 pm

    wow…these are fantastic !
    thanks for the camera in a bag idea 🙂

  14. #14 by deb@talk at the table on April 22, 2011 - 7:45 am

    Beautiful photos..
    (here via elk) … I ‘m going to check out the JK link you referenced as well, thanks.
    and I love to be outside in the rain, so have done the plastic bag thing.. but a clear bag looks much more elegant than a grocery one 🙂

  15. #15 by Relyn on April 22, 2011 - 7:22 pm

    OH, that is one of my most favorite poems ever. You illustrated it perfectly.

  16. #16 by margie on April 23, 2011 - 12:15 am

    perfect shots of perfect drops. very well done.

  17. #17 by jeanie on April 23, 2011 - 10:53 am

    Camera survived and so did you! And boy — what fabulous results, Christine. That last one in particular was a stunner!

  18. #18 by Jennifer on April 24, 2011 - 8:47 pm

    your photographs are stunning. absolutely stunning!

Leave a Reply

