Searching for Beauty

"Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not."~Ralph Waldo Emersonleaves lingering with spiderweb

I’ve been in search of beauty on my hikes and I’m surprised to say that it has been difficult lately. I thought by now there would be flowers blooming & butterflies swirling about, yet most days continue to be wet, gray, and gloomy with little to find. Yesterday I finally found something that brightened my week, the sun peaked out and my eyes were drawn to these trees with fragile paperwhite leaves lingering… I think they look like angel wings drying on a clothes line.

angel wings on a clothes linetree with leaves lingering

leaves lingering in the sun

That reminds me…. a few weeks ago I found these big trees with dried blooms… who knew a dried up bloom could be so beautiful?

dried bloom

tree with single bloom

blooms in big treetwo bloomsSince things have been dreary outside, I’ve been spending more time inside searching for beauty. It’s been fun to surf the blogosphere… I found some beauty here at giggling in the rain her blog is filled with heartfelt words, I love this post.

Perhaps the coolest thing that happened this week is that people found me! Two blogs that I enjoy visiting linked back to me. This is a first for me. It’s so exciting to have new visitors… and to have, not one, but two friends link to me in one week WOW! I know this may sound silly and self-serving but I’m just beside myself… I feel seen 🙂 Thank you Jill & ELK. Jill’s blog Jillsygirl studio has beautiful photography and she creates wonderful blog hop challenges. ELKs blog red or gray always calms me down and I breathe a little deeper each time I visit.

single dried bloom

P.S. One other thing I found this week was another duck species … a Hooded Merganser, I can’t believe this funny looking duck was hanging out in the pond outback!

hooded merganser

, , , ,

  1. #1 by ladyfi on April 24, 2011 - 11:57 am

    Ah – one of my favourite quotes!

    Lovely shots of those delicate and exquisite angel wings!

  2. #2 by Pondering Pony on April 24, 2011 - 8:12 pm

    These images are so beautiful and melancholy! And thank you for sharing those links, I’ve found some new blogs to follow now!

  3. #3 by Jennifer on April 24, 2011 - 8:44 pm

    I feel so honored to be here. Sitting along side your beautiful photos. Thank you.

    Spring seems to be taking it’s time this year…moving in slowing and pouring down tears from the sky.

    Your photographs are stunning. xo

  4. #4 by Cy on April 24, 2011 - 11:18 pm

    Christine, although I enjoy everything you post, the image 3rd from the bottom of this particular layout is truly fantastic. Awesome composition and color! I also liked your comment about “angel wings drying on the clothesline.” 🙂

  5. #5 by Amy on April 25, 2011 - 8:07 am

    i love those angel wings too and the sound they make in the wind. it’s amazing they stay on the tree all winter and i love your photo of the one with the spider webs.

  6. #6 by deb taylor on April 25, 2011 - 8:39 am

    oh there is nothing more beautiful than a branch of Angel Wings…perfect!

  7. #7 by Gretchen Cochran on April 25, 2011 - 8:44 am

    “Angel wings hanging on a clothesline”…. I love that. Thanks for brightening my day–and it’s still early.

  8. #8 by ZORRO on April 25, 2011 - 8:55 am

    The heart the two leaves make… is angelic. Sos divina querida.

  9. #9 by pattisj on April 26, 2011 - 12:34 am

    Beautiful pictures and post, I always enjoy visiting to see what you’ve “found.”

  10. #10 by Susan on April 26, 2011 - 2:22 pm

    I love how you continue to “find” beauty it what many of take as the ordinary – your metaphors take them to a new level and open my heart even wider. I find myself looking at my surroundings with the thought “What would Christine find?” and this simple thought has ripped open my consideration of beautiful! I love you my friend!

  11. #11 by Marcie on April 26, 2011 - 5:05 pm

    Exquisite early spring images. Wonderful detail…love these!

  12. #12 by ELK on April 26, 2011 - 5:37 pm

    so very tranquil here ..i find often the dried spent blooms have most character …you are sweet to mention me ..

  13. #13 by beth on April 27, 2011 - 6:39 pm

    oh my lord….the head on those ducks. WOW !!!

    and i love the idea of angel wings drying on the line……

  14. #14 by jeanie on April 28, 2011 - 5:16 pm

    As always, the quality of your work fills me with awe.

  15. #15 by deb colarossi on April 28, 2011 - 9:39 pm

    love love love.

    so glad to have this place to come to now…

  16. #16 by magpie on April 30, 2011 - 11:45 am

    thanks for your comment – guess you found me by way of
    jillsy’s cool challenge. that’s one of the more personal
    posts i think i’ve done – just felt right.
    love the image and the description of
    the angel wings. sometimes the simplest things…

  17. #17 by Hilary on May 1, 2011 - 8:06 am

    Beautiful images. I know what you mean about how difficult it can be to find fresh ideas out there. Spring has been slow to approach. But you’ve managed to find much beauty.

  18. #18 by Jillsy Girl on May 2, 2011 - 9:13 pm

    I’m FINALLY making my rounds and trying to catch up! I have to admit that taking a break from blogging has broken the strong grip it had on me. (At least for the time being), although I have missed the interaction with my blog peeps!)

    The one thing that took me totally by surprise about photography was the knack of seeing the beauty in just about anything. I think I used to walk around with blinders on before I got my dear Nikon! Your images are perfect examples!

  1. Late Afternoon Meditation « christine m young ✻ artist

Leave a Reply

