Beautiful Branches

"I go to nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in order." ~ John Burroughs

budding branchFor the past few weeks I’ve been captivated by branches. As the trees begin to wake up after a loooong winter, it’s fascinating to see all of the different buds and blooms.

branch collage

bird & budsTiny buds surviving an April snow storm.

hula branchhula bud

Little hula skirts waving in the wind.

arrow branch

Tight arrow like buds just beginning to unfurl.

berrry branch

Dried berries that hung on all winter!

tails

Strange tails twisting.

green bud

Spring green flowers for the bees.

cones & wisps

Yellow cones that open into feathery wisps.

white & black

White blooms with black branches.

I always have more energy in the spring, like the trees waking up, I seem to be more awake. As the weather warms and the days grow longer I feel more alive.

P.S. I’m just learning how to link and blog hop. This week I am linking to Your Sunday Best and SOOC Sunday.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Teresa on May 2, 2011 - 1:01 am

    Great series of shots! I just love the hula skirts!

  2. #2 by A Rural Journal on May 2, 2011 - 5:48 am

    Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful blooms with us on YSB. I went out yesterday evening and did pretty much the same thing — took oodles of photos of emerging blooms and leaves. It’s such a pretty time of year. 🙂

  3. #3 by rachel awes on May 2, 2011 - 6:28 am

    yes! to our feeling more alive!
    yes! to the beauty of your photos!
    yes! to spring coming!
    yes! to you!
    xo

  4. #4 by Buttons on May 2, 2011 - 7:48 am

    These are incredible photos. I love spring thanks for giving me some, ours seems to be a little delayed. B

  5. #5 by Gretchen Cochran on May 2, 2011 - 10:22 am

    Love today’s quote. After a wonderful walk in the spring-emerging woods, I feel soothed, and that my senses are at least temporarily ordered.

  6. #6 by Chez Loulou on May 2, 2011 - 11:03 am

    All so lovely! In the winter I often take shots of bare branches against blue skies – I love the pattern and texture it creates.
    Especially love the photo of the bird in the snow.

  7. #7 by lila Braga on May 2, 2011 - 11:43 am

    Frescura y creatividad, formas y texturas, y siempre original!

  8. #8 by Susan Duffield on May 2, 2011 - 12:20 pm

    Your photos, are once again, beautiful my friend! There is a tinge of envy in my belly as I apprecaite the beauty in your photos and words. I may live in a sun filled world here in the desert and I do appreciate that, however, I find myself longing for the spring ritual of renewal. I suppose there is that ritual here somewhere, I will journey out into my own backyard to find some….I love you, S

  9. #9 by TexWisGirl on May 2, 2011 - 1:11 pm

    These are beautiful!! And I loved your descriptions too! Poor little cold goldfinch! Came over from A Rural Journal to say hello!

  10. #10 by Jillsy Girl on May 2, 2011 - 9:21 pm

    Mother Nature has a way, in early Spring, of making us giddy from mere snippets of color!

  11. #11 by ladyfi on May 3, 2011 - 12:01 am

    Oh, the giddy joys of spring – snow and wonderful flowers! Your shots are just stunning as usual.

  12. #12 by jeanie on May 3, 2011 - 4:25 pm

    As always, your photography makes me smile — and perhaps really believe that spring will be here.

  13. #13 by pattisj on May 3, 2011 - 8:18 pm

    You left your goldfinch out in the snow! Poor little fella. What an interesting array of new life you’ve found. They bring ideas of alien life forms, these are not what we are used to seeing. Thanks for sharing these through your gift of photography.

  14. #14 by beth on May 3, 2011 - 9:57 pm

    i couldn’t agree more with you in regards to how spring makes you feel….and yet, i’m drawn to the dried up berries photo 🙂

  15. #15 by Anyes - Far Away In The Sunshine on May 4, 2011 - 2:00 am

    Spring does give every one a burst of energy, your photographs are stunning and I can also see myself using the plastic bag cover when it’s raining and see what comes of it
    Thank you for your visit over today 🙂

  16. #16 by Alisa on May 5, 2011 - 8:10 pm

    Hi Christine, What a beautiful blog you have! I feel like I’ve taken a mini holiday, so soothing. Thanks for dropping by mine and leaving such a sweet comment, it’s lovely to meet you. : )

  17. #17 by Marcie on May 8, 2011 - 3:46 pm

    Exquisite beauty! I – too – go to nature for hope and inspiration and healing! Wonderful collection of images.

  18. #18 by JUANA on May 22, 2011 - 5:22 pm

    Oh, these are BEAUTIFUL!!! I feel more alive by just looking at your photos!!

Leave a Reply

