Chasing Beauty

Birds are a miracle because they prove to us there is a finer, simpler state of being which we may strive to attain. ~ Doug Coupland

snowy egret on the shore

I See You

i spotted a bird… he spotted me

snowy egret getting closer

Sitting Still

he sized me up and down, i did the same…

each time i got too close he wandered forward… considered flying…

then decided staying by the pond was much more important than being bothered by me

snowy egret skirting the edge

Skirting the Edge

he was hungry for lunch, i was hungry for a photo of this

beautiful lanky fluffy white bird i’d never seen before

snowy egret shaking me off

Fantastic Feathers

again i got too close

so he trotted past a few mallards who squawked at his trespassing

snowy egret & mallard ducks

Coming Through

snowy egret walking past mallard ducks

Who Does He Think He Is?!

he thought he lost me behind the wall, but i found him crouching in the corner

snowy egret crouching

Crouched & Curved

he spotted me again… cruised up the hill

snowy egret walking

I'm Outta Here

shook off his frustration

snowy egret shaking

Shake Shake Shake

and finally he just stopped playing our game

 and patiently waited for me to leave him alone to search for his lunch in peace

snowy egret sitting

The End

This post has been entered in Jillsy Girl’s Water Challenge 

Take a moment to hop over and get a little wet 🙂

, ,

  1. #1 by Jillsy Girl on June 24, 2011 - 11:04 am

    Oooh…you lucky thing! You got a photo shoot of a Great White Egret!! Stunning creatures! I’ve seen a couple at our lake in SC but the Great Blue Heron is more common (which I love) !

  2. #2 by pattisj on June 24, 2011 - 11:43 am

    You got some great shots of your elusive subject. 🙂 I love seeing nature’s beauties.

  3. #3 by ladyfi on June 25, 2011 - 1:38 am

    Oh wow – what a beautiful model you got to pose for you in these shots. Just gorgeous!

  4. #4 by beth on June 25, 2011 - 7:00 pm

    oh how i love the ruffled feather photo…and your determination 🙂

  5. #5 by Juana on June 26, 2011 - 1:11 am

    You must have had so much fun with the “photo bird chase” that ended up being this wonderful post!!

  6. #6 by Jennifer Richardson on June 26, 2011 - 12:25 pm

    chasing beauty with you:)
    -Jennifer

  7. #7 by Connie King on June 27, 2011 - 1:09 am

    I saw Egrets in Aswan, Egypt…
    such beauties, and I like the fluffy one!
    connie

  8. #8 by Connie King on June 27, 2011 - 1:11 am

    I saw elegant Egrets in Aswan, Egypt
    such elegant beauties, I like the fluffy one
    connie

  9. #9 by countingducks on June 27, 2011 - 5:51 am

    Lovely quote and great photos. Thanks for sharing them with us and captions. Made me smile.

  10. #10 by Susan d on June 27, 2011 - 12:08 pm

    The Great Blue Heron is one of my favorite birds here in the desert around Lake Pleasant…thank you for sharing the Great White with me … such beauty xoxo’s

  11. #11 by Amy K on July 2, 2011 - 8:54 am

    i love it that you are stalking rare birds now, my beautiful friend.

Leave a Reply

