Finding Inspiration

Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination. Devour old films, new films, music, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams, random conversations, architecture, bridges, street signs, trees, clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows. Select only things to steal from that speak directly to your soul. If you do this, your work (and theft) will be authentic. Authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent. And don’t bother concealing your thievery – celebrate it if you feel like it. In any case, always remember what Jean-Luc Godard said: “It’s not where you take things from – it’s where you take them to.” ~ Jim Jarmusch

My friend Lisa visited for two days last week and we talked non-stop, hiked in the dreary weather but had fun anyway, and she was kind enough to help me with some design projects. It is so fun to have girlfriends who energize and inspire me to do the things I tend to put off until someday ~ jeez it’s hard to prioritize everything I think I want to do and it’s great to have some help.

She has been my biggest cheerleader to get back to work on creating my new website ( my old one crashed and I have to learn a new platform) I think I’ll be happy with a WordPress site but would love to hear from any of you who are happy with other options.

After she left on Friday, I’ve spent most of my time with my eyes glued to the computer screen searching and surfing for things that ‘fuel my imagination’, ideas I will incorporate in my own way with the help of a web designer. BTW, if you know any good web/graphic designers send them my way. I’m trying to find someone locally but could work long distance if I find the right fit.

Lovely Lisa & A Forest Fawn

White Weeds

Two Turtles

Flying Fawn

Summer Fall

Having done hours of cyber surfing, I’m so inspired and found some random fun things to share. I never share recipes because cooking drives me crazy and I’m not much of a foodie, but I still want this fancy toast press (designed by Minale Maeda Studio) to make gourmet grilled cheese, but I may have to settle for this toaster since I can’t find a proper link for the Table Manners toast press.  The patch on the jeans is a custom fabric print by Amy Butler. Her pallet makes me so happy. (I have more inspiring photos from others I want to share but being an anal virgo designer, these were the only two photos that went with this weeks pallet 🙂 )

Table Manners Toast Press & Amy Butler Fabrics

The last random link I hope you will check out is a movie we watched on Netflix over the weekend. I’m wishing somebody in my cyber circles would  have a blog about great Netflix finds, there are so many cool movies in the instant queue but it takes some digging around. Do you have some favorite Netflix finds? I’m rambling, back to the movie recommendation. I loved Queen to Play. It’s a foreign film about chess. Kevin Kline is wonderful and the filmmakers made playing chess surprisingly sexy and inspiring. After watching the film, I’m so inspired to pursue the things I love more fully.

Have a Beauty ✻ Filled Week

Linking with

The Creative Exchange

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by pattisj on September 11, 2011 - 10:19 pm

    I really love today’s pictures! Cool toast press, that sandwich should taste much better. 🙂

  2. #2 by pattisj on September 11, 2011 - 11:18 pm

    The fawn really WAS flying! They are so pretty.

  3. #3 by rachel awes on September 12, 2011 - 6:33 am

    i am completely fawning over the flying fawn.
    a soul sighting. ****wow****
    love the jean pocket, friendship, inspiration.
    love it all! xox

  4. #4 by Gretchen Cochran on September 12, 2011 - 10:39 am

    Super graphic artist is Kate McNenly of the McNenly Group in Lansing. She’s a member of the Savories book group.

  5. #5 by ZORRO on September 12, 2011 - 10:54 am

    The turtles are incredible!…. love that shot. U D flying fawn!

  6. #6 by Miss Emm on September 12, 2011 - 6:07 pm

    I personally loved the dear in motion. It reminded me of the life. How we are always in motion and we never stop.

    Nonethelss, few days ago you had commented on my blog and the motion of life kept me from responding to you. Thank you for stopping by.

  7. #7 by lisa on September 12, 2011 - 8:57 pm

    It is so nice to have a good friend to discuss ideas with.
    Your photographs here are just wonderful Christine, and I thank you so much for sharing them today at The Creative Exchange.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    lisa.

  8. #8 by missing moments on September 12, 2011 - 10:06 pm

    That fawn shot is really cool! But then, so are all the others!

  9. #9 by elk on September 12, 2011 - 10:28 pm

    oh your amazing photos !! and i can really tell you had a lovely time with your friend…cannit wit tos ee your new space although I rather like this one too!!

  10. #10 by ladyfi on September 13, 2011 - 11:56 pm

    Such superb shots! And that flying fawn photo – just magical!

  11. #11 by countingducks on September 14, 2011 - 5:39 am

    I love the pictures as well and I agree that fawn photo is amazing

  12. #12 by jeanie on September 14, 2011 - 9:14 pm

    These are stunner photos — and I’m so glad you are inspired to the max! Isn’t it amazing how time with a good friend can so energize you that you’re just ready to roll again? that’s how I feel when Kate and I do craft camp! (By the way, check with Kate on web design — I think her firm does that. Also, look at Erik Taylor in Detroit. I don’t know if he’s doing a ton of web design anymore since his etsy business is going crazy right now, but he might be persuaded for a fellow artist photographer! I think it’s eriktaylorphotography.com.

  13. #13 by Pat on September 15, 2011 - 9:21 am

    Nice photos! I love the flying fawn – it’s a fantastic image!

  14. #14 by EG Wow, Canada on September 15, 2011 - 12:37 pm

    I enjoyed reading this post. And I love the quote. Your pallet for this post is fabulous too.

Leave a Reply

