Auspicious

We wonder at our purpose for living. Our purpose is to perceive the fantastic. Why have a Universe if there is no audience? We are that audience. ~ Ray Bradbury

Yesterday I talked my husband into getting up early to take us to the Michigan Fungus Fest. It was fun and so informative, the festival seemed to be focused on the culinary and academic side of mushrooms. I don’t seem to have room yet in my brain to learn the Latin names and you need to put in a lot of time and research before eating many of the species to avoid the poisonous ones, maybe someday? The beauty and bizarreness of mushrooms is what gets me excited. I love hunting for them and when I find a new one to photograph I get so excited.

grey mushroom

It was a beautiful day and I found more than mushrooms…

wood frog

wood frog

tree frog

Today I was working on the computer putting this post together and my husband pulled up a chair to sit beside me and I was shocked to see another tree frog on the leg of the chair! The frog was a wonderful model, he/she allowed me to take many photos, even after we put him/her outside on the deck. (How he/she got inside is still a mystery)

tree frog

tree frog

tree frog

tree frog

Three frogs hopping into my life in two days feels so auspicious. In feng shui the three-legged frog is a symbol of abundance. This frog had four legs but only one eye, I wonder what that means?

Linking with

POTW

The Creative Exchange

, , , ,

  1. #1 by LeAnne on September 26, 2011 - 10:38 am

    These are wonderful! Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting.

  2. #2 by Shea on September 26, 2011 - 11:17 am

    he rode your shoulder …
    the pink in the first is divine
    sure to make me high? 😉

  3. #3 by Cy on September 26, 2011 - 12:52 pm

    Michigan seems to be a panacea of wonderful flora and fauna. What wonderful macro fun you have, C!

  4. #4 by Kitty Danke Rothwell on September 26, 2011 - 3:39 pm

    Where was the Fungus Fest? I’ve never heard about it.

  5. #5 by Susan D on September 26, 2011 - 3:53 pm

    Incredible Christine! I got hit with trust….and a big WhamMy of LoVe 🙂 And oh how I love you!

  6. #6 by pattisj on September 26, 2011 - 5:24 pm

    Interesting mushrooms, and of course I love the four-legged friends you found. 🙂 Great photos.

  7. #7 by Nancy on September 26, 2011 - 7:50 pm

    We had a tree frog on one of our wind chimes one year. They do find the oddest places to sit and rest. 🙂 Great photos of the fungi!

  8. #8 by lisa on September 26, 2011 - 8:44 pm

    These are wonderful photographs Christine, and I’m loving your little tree frogs!

    Thank you so much for sharing this at The Creative Exchange today.

    Have a great evening!

    lisa.

  9. #9 by missing moments on September 26, 2011 - 11:38 pm

    I love fungi … I don’t see enough of it … great photos!

  10. #10 by anne on September 27, 2011 - 2:02 pm

    Wonderful photographs. Of the fungus and the frogs! So fun to find both.

  11. #11 by Pat on September 28, 2011 - 3:50 pm

    Fabulous fungi and frogs!

  12. #12 by jeanie on September 28, 2011 - 10:28 pm

    Wow — the frog is fabulous! And where in the world did you find a fungus festival around here? That sounds like tons of fun — you sure got the pictures to prove it! (Better keep that studio door shut!)

  13. #13 by ladyfi on September 29, 2011 - 11:58 am

    Oh, that last shot of the cheeky frog is fabulous! And I love the shots of your mushrooms too.

  14. #14 by beth on September 29, 2011 - 10:09 pm

    how fun….the mushrooms and the frog visitor….and i agree, it must mean something !!

  15. #15 by ShonEjai on October 1, 2011 - 1:47 am

    Very cool pictures!

  16. #16 by Marcie on October 1, 2011 - 1:54 pm

    Although I know nothing about them – mushrooms are among my favorite photographic subjects. The ones you have here are absolutely exquisite!! And – gotta love that frog…:-)!

  17. #17 by dogear6 on October 1, 2011 - 9:20 pm

    It’s been so rainy here, I took my mushroom pictures in my backyard! The stinkhorns are so ugly!

    http://dogear6.com/2011/09/20/mellow-mushrooms/
    Nancy

  18. #18 by dogear6 on October 1, 2011 - 9:21 pm

    P.S. Love those frog shots. Very good!

  19. #19 by Hilary on October 4, 2011 - 10:08 am

    Such wonderful photos. So kind of this little cutie for posing for you. I think his one eye represents the fact that one of yours is always peeking into the viewfinder. And thankfully so.

  20. #20 by missing moments on October 5, 2011 - 7:30 am

    Love the mushroom shots! And the little frog … well I just love frogs. Congrats on Hilary’s POTW!

  21. #21 by Barbara S. on October 6, 2011 - 2:54 pm

    I have no idea what that means but judging from your photos, it’s something wonderful! Congrats on the POTW!

Leave a Reply

