Lakeshore

The lakes are something which you are unprepared for; they lie up so high, exposed to the light, and the forest is diminished to a fine fringe on their edges, with here and there a blue mountain, like amethyst jewels set around some jewel of the first water, – so anterior, so superior, to all the changes that are to take place on their shores, even now civil and refined, and fair as they can ever be. ~Henry David Thoreau

Vast

Endless

Beauty

Beach

Breeze

Strange

Swirl

Vast

Endless

Beauty

Beach

Breeze

Strange

Swirl

These words pretty much describe last Sunday, but I’ll share a bit more… my husband and I went  to Sleep Bear Dunes last weekend and it was spectacular. Standing on the sand dunes looking out at the views of Lake Michigan is astounding. I was so impressed with the size of both the lake and the dunes, some of the dunes are 450 ft high! it’s just amazing. I’ve made a few trips to the shores of Lake Michigan the last two summers a little further South, but this vantage point is the best. It’s a bit after the busy summer season and the quiet combined with the sanctuary of the national park was sublime. “The park’s creation was highly controversial because it involved the transfer of private property to public. The Federal government’s stance at the time was that the Great Lakes were the “third coast”  ( the quote is from Wikipedia, click on the links to find out more ).

My favorite find on the trip was the swirls. These pattern in the sand were made by the ends of grass. It was a windy weekend and I was tickled by the perfect circle patterns that were etched in the sand by the wind blowing them round and round .

, ,

  1. #1 by pattisj on October 6, 2011 - 8:27 pm

    Such a beautiful place! Thank you for sharing it with us, Christine. I love the beauty in the details of the sand, the driftwood, rocks and grasses. And I just want to hug that dog of yours!

  2. #2 by jeanie on October 6, 2011 - 10:19 pm

    Going to the big lake — isn’t it the best? I love the photo of you and Sunrise!

  3. #3 by Kitty Danke Rothwell on October 6, 2011 - 10:27 pm

    You were up in my old stomping grounds. I grew up in Cadillac. My parents live a little bit south of Sleeping Bear near Frankfort. I do love the beaches when there are fewer people.

  4. #4 by Barbara S. on October 6, 2011 - 10:45 pm

    Just gorgeous! I’ve only been to Lake Michigan a few times and was blown away by the VASTness, but didn’t know about this spot. Love the dunes!

  5. #5 by missing moments on October 6, 2011 - 11:21 pm

    Love Lake Michigan … great photos!

  6. #6 by Nancy on October 7, 2011 - 9:25 am

    I’m in love with all of the rounded stones in your photos. What a great place to spend a weekend!

  7. #7 by lisa on October 7, 2011 - 9:54 am

    Christine, these are such beautiful photographs. Although I have never been there, I have heard that it is truly amazing! So glad you had a wonderful time, and thank you for sharing the photographs here. Have a great weekend!

    P.S. The flower you asked about? It is a hydrangea.

  8. #8 by Shea on October 7, 2011 - 10:18 am

    The third coast… yes. that is what those shores are…
    It’s fun to see you and your pup – and is that zorro on the shore below?
    Perfect circles indeed.

  9. #9 by ladyfi on October 7, 2011 - 11:58 am

    Wow – such amazing photos of this lovely place!

  10. #10 by Amy K on October 8, 2011 - 8:17 am

    gorgeous photos, c ~ what a beautiful place

  11. #11 by Marcie on October 9, 2011 - 12:39 pm

    Such gorgeous details. Love how you’ve taken me to this beautiful place – helped me see and feel and hear its vastness.

  12. #12 by Susan D on October 9, 2011 - 10:24 pm

    So love seeing you in the photos – beautiful smile and sunrise is a sight too…two of my favorite beautiful things…I never knew the size of Lakes – yes VAST….perfectly suited word to describe it. I love you my friend ❤

  1. Your Turn « christine m young ✻ artist

Leave a Reply

