Transparent Transformation

Have you ever noticed that the word “myself” contains the word “elf”? ~ Gwen Bell

I feel like a little elf sometimes when I slip through the forest finding all kinds of creatures, My cousin once commented ‘Do you live in Sherwood Forest?’ I just cracked up, but this week I do feel like I’ve lived in the forest. It’s been magical… the weather is superb, a little bit of summer in October and I’ve been spending way too much time outside.

My favorite find on my daily hikes was this amazing yellow caterpillar at the top of a twig, it’s difficult to shoot caterpillars on the ground so I was just beside myself when I found this little guy so perfectly posed up in the air! BUT, I did not have my camera, I was taking my dog Sunrise for a short walk to the pond, it was lunch time and the lighting in the middle of the day is so harsh for most photos so I headed out without my camera. When I found this fuzzy little wonder in the shade, I RAN back to the house to retrieve what is usually always strapped around my shoulder! I RAN back to the area he was in and it took me forever to find him again. It made me realize how much of a meditation my walks can be, when I’m not looking for the shot, when I’m just wandering in awe of nature, she reveals her treasures, when I’m furiously looking for something in particular ~ no luck. I found this beauty once again after I just sat down and knew my eyes would get there. Can you believe there were still dew drops on him at noon on such a warm day?

Breath Taking

Yellow Fuzz ~ Yellow Reflection

Transparent Transformation

Sniffing

Autumn Daisies

Field of Beans

Autumn Stars

Gray

Autumn Joy

White Whiskers

I don’t want the warmth to end, but it will. Life goes on and the change of season reveals the life and death cycle. I watched the yellow butterfly take its last breaths, it broke my heart, but it seemed to live a long life, the wings were tattered and almost see-through. I’ve heard that we get transparent as we age, which brings us closer to what is beyond ♥

Linking with

The Creative Exchange

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kitty Danke Rothwell on October 9, 2011 - 1:03 pm

    Sunrise looks so happy and content. Beautiful pictures Christine.

  2. #2 by beth on October 9, 2011 - 4:41 pm

    are you being as blessed as we are right now with these past weeks of glorious weather ?
    what a gift…
    just like your photos in this post….xoxo

  3. #3 by Susan D on October 9, 2011 - 10:19 pm

    All of these photos are just incredible Christine…your thoughts of changes in the season stir my heart and I miss seeing that transition. Flowers are beginning to bloom again here and the summer induced burnt brown of the desert is turning green once again…I am not complaining and yet miss that release that surrenders with the fall season. I miss you and love you tremendously…looking forward to more “fall” like photos to treasure….xox s

  4. #4 by dogear6 on October 9, 2011 - 11:30 pm

    Loved all the photos, especially the caterpillar.

  5. #5 by ladyfi on October 9, 2011 - 11:38 pm

    What marvellous and exquisite treasures! And I like your thoughts about us becoming more transparent as we near our own ends…

  6. #6 by Nancy on October 10, 2011 - 5:55 am

    I guess from the day we’re born, we start fading away, don’t we? Lovely shots and thoughts. 🙂

  7. #7 by Linda Makiej on October 10, 2011 - 10:43 am

    Fantastic work for the Creative Exchange!!

  8. #8 by ShonEjai on October 10, 2011 - 11:51 am

    Beatuiful photos. I love each one.

  9. #9 by lisa on October 10, 2011 - 5:35 pm

    What beautiful photographs these are Christine! I never cease to be amazed at how beautiful plants and flowers are when they are past their prime, and you have shown that so beautifully here. We are having some wonderfully warm October weather also, but it looks like it may all be over by the end of the week 😦

    Thank you so much for sharing this today at The Creative Exchange.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    lisa.

  10. #10 by Hilary on October 10, 2011 - 7:11 pm

    Christine, these images are just beauitiful. What a treat to find that caterpiller in all his fluffy glory… you captured it perfectly.

  11. #11 by Valerie on October 10, 2011 - 7:37 pm

    Beautiful photos. I too am sorry to see the warm weather go. This weekend was so perfect. V

  12. #12 by pattisj on October 11, 2011 - 1:00 am

    I love your caterpillar find! You have a great eye for catching nature’s delicate details.

  13. #13 by Ellie on October 11, 2011 - 4:30 am

    Oh, that is some caterpillar very unusual. Great pictures.

  14. #14 by Shea on October 11, 2011 - 11:49 am

    transparency…..

  15. #15 by missing moments on October 11, 2011 - 2:35 pm

    Great photos … love that caterpillar!

  16. #16 by Amy K on October 12, 2011 - 7:53 am

    beautiful post ~ ready to have our conversation again, love u

  17. #17 by jeanie on October 12, 2011 - 9:06 pm

    Divine. Wouldn’t you know that the minute you don’t have your camera, you see the perfect thing? Well, I think your back-up subjects more than exceeded expectations! I’m glad you moved to Michigan!

Leave a Reply

