Is it Really November!?

Flowers… are a proud assertion that a ray of beauty out values all the utilities of the world.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

When I headed out for a hike a few days ago, it was cold, snow flurries here and there and I forgot my walking shoes,  my toes were getting numb in my flimsy fashionable boots. I thought I do a short little walk, but I just can’t help it, I wander. I get lost taking photos and spend so much time immersed in the magic of being outside. An hour can feel like 5 minutes.  In my state of wonder, I was so surprised to stumble upon this purple flower blooming!? Maybe it only blooms when its cold and wet and gray?

And then a moth flew by full of energy, I have not seen a moth or butterfly in weeks, this little guy was full of energy flitting all about like it was the middle of the summer. I was wandering in circles waiting for it to land, it was worth the wait. I love the wings they look like a warm woven poncho with soft fringe.

Each day I hike I keep finding something new to see, to learn, to share… mother nature keeps reminding me that miracles happen all the time.

Have a beauty ✻ filled week.

P.S. I also stumble on this netflix find in the instant queue, have you seen Rivers and Tides? Andy Goldsworthy is an amazing artist working with time. He goes outside day after dreary day and co -creates with nature. I’m so inspired by his work, his focus, his desire to make something beautiful.

Linking with

The Creative Exchange

, ,

  1. #1 by pattisj on November 13, 2011 - 11:53 pm

    Lovely finds, especially the moth, and I loved your description of it.

  2. #2 by Hilary on November 14, 2011 - 7:50 am

    Oh how lovely. I saw a moth flitting around yesterday, too. It was astounding to see but mine never stopped within my shooting range. Beautiful images as always. I never heard of this movie but it looks fascinating.

  3. #3 by ZORRO on November 14, 2011 - 9:54 am

    Another beautiful ray of sunshine from you!… the moth is awesome!… I want a poncho! Besos.

  4. #4 by Susan D on November 14, 2011 - 10:31 am

    Perfect beginning to a perfect Monday and week…the photos are amazing…I, too, want a poncho as beautiful…an incredible description Chrisitne…thank you xox
    ~s

  5. #5 by Jennifer Isenhart on November 14, 2011 - 11:36 am

    Beautiful, Christine. I was thinking of you this morning, and then this arrived in my inbox. I love it when you wander!

    Love,

    Jen

  6. #6 by lisa on November 14, 2011 - 4:01 pm

    These are beautiful Christine!
    I especially love that little purple flower.
    I was out for a very long walk this weekend and did find some color still left.
    You just have to look really hard to find it.

    Thank you so much for sharing at The Creative Exchange today.

    Have a great evening!

    lisa.

  7. #7 by angie on November 14, 2011 - 4:42 pm

    very pretty

  8. #8 by Shea on November 14, 2011 - 7:13 pm

    i love these!
    the green is so special. i’ll never look at that ordinary bush fern stuff the same again…
    warm woven poncho – i would have never put that with a moth.
    you are amazing.
    tell zorro i say besos now…
    😉
    xoxoxo
    ps love andy goldsworthy. he would be inspired by you…

  9. #9 by countingducks on November 15, 2011 - 8:56 am

    More amazing photos. You have a fantastic eye and I’m not just saying that. On a more practical note, I hope your toes are Ok and didn’t get too grumpy while the rest of you was enjoying the walk

  10. #10 by rachel awes on November 16, 2011 - 12:17 pm

    LOVE! xox

  11. #11 by jeanie on November 19, 2011 - 11:11 am

    You find such treasures when you go on your walks! My, what fine eyes you have! Lovely.

  1. Repeat « christine m young ✻ artist
  2. One Mystery Solved « christine m young ✻ artist

Leave a Reply

