One Mystery Solved

All things must change to something new, to something strange. ~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

I took this shot last spring on April 17 during a late snow storm, it’s normal to see the buds appearing on the trees.

I took these shots ↓  this week on December 1. It’s not normal to see buds on the trees at the beginning of winter!?

I rarely watch the news but turned it on during our first snow storm. I’m glad I did, it solved a mystery I’ve been wondering about… when I was hiking a few weeks ago I was so surprised that I was finding so many caterpillars crawling, moths flying, and flowers blooming in mid – November, most surprising was a shrub that was budding? It turns out that we had exceptionally warm periods this fall that caused some odd occurences,.. trees and shrubs began to bud out soon after their leaves fell off. It’s so strange to see these buds in December?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Hilary on December 4, 2011 - 5:19 pm

    It’s been a pleasantly mild November for sure. I hope it doesn’t give the trees and shrubs trouble in the true spring. Lovely shots, C.

  2. #2 by pattisj on December 5, 2011 - 1:07 am

    That is really unexpected that far north, I would imagine. Love the birds!

  3. #3 by ladyfi on December 5, 2011 - 3:20 am

    Beautiful shots!

    We have buds on our trees too and are still waiting for the first snowfall.

  4. #4 by Amy on December 5, 2011 - 6:59 am

    aww… that little puffy yellow guy is so sweet 🙂

  5. #5 by ZORRO on December 5, 2011 - 10:42 am

    Love the bird shots!!

  6. #6 by Shea on December 5, 2011 - 10:45 am

    You have helped me notice this!
    I love the fat little bird too.
    Xo

  7. #7 by Susan D on December 5, 2011 - 10:49 am

    I love the gaze of each bird…and the snow piling on their slight beak…and you can see the density of their feathers in which to keep them warm…and the movement of the snowflakes behind the beautiful sunshine bird – I think I’ll name him Sunni with an I….As I was viewing your photos your inquiry had me pondering how mother nature works and at the slightest bit of warmth they shift gear and prepare to repond – of course, in their natural state…no consideration of time (I can hear the tree now…oh wait my little fruits, it is not time yet to blossom 🙂 ) I love you Christine ❤

Leave a Reply

