Wistful

Better than any argument is to rise at dawn and pick dew-wet red berries in a cup. ~ Wendell Berry

I wish it was the middle of the summer and I was rising early to collect dew wet red berries, but it’s not. Lately it’s been cold and gray so I decided to brighten my day and organize a few of the red berry photos I’ve taken over the last few weeks. There are still so many bright red balls clinging to branches and hanging in clusters. I’m grateful for the little splash of color.

I’ve actually been hunting for blackberries this time of year, not the fruit but the branches. In July, I stumbled on some wild blackberries while hiking and was able to pick enough to have some on my breakfast cereal. It’s been years since I had wild berries and I was so amazed by the taste.

They taste like my childhood, I remember being so lucky to live next to neighbors who had berries in their giant garden. I would just sit on the ground and eat as I picked, no need to go home for lunch, I filled up on berries and played outside all afternoon. Nowadays the supermarket berries are super-sized and strange tasting compared to the wild ones. Don’t get me wrong, I love that I can buy a pack of organic berries for $3.00 to have on my breakfast in the middle of December, this morning I had some yummy raspberries with my shredded wheat, but there is nothing like the taste of a fresh picked wild berry on a hot summer day.

The reddish purply branches have a beautiful icy gray patina, the color is such a feast for the eyes this time of year, they stand out against all the gray. Now that I know what blackberry branches look like it’s so much easier to spot them. I’ve found so many stashes of berry patches on many of my regular hikes, next summer I’ll be able to pick enough for a whole pie!

What tastes take you right back to your childhood?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jillsy Girl on December 11, 2011 - 5:34 pm

    Hi there, Christine! Sorry, I’ve been a stranger. These photos are amazing! Here in the South, we haven’t had any Winter like weather yet. I think today was the coldest yet, but the sun was shining so it was anything but dismal. Just had to wrap up warmly…it probably only made it into the mid 40’s (which is probably considered warm for you Northerners, but chilly for us!). Hope all is well!

  2. #2 by Shea on December 11, 2011 - 7:15 pm

    i love the dripping dyad
    xxo

  3. #3 by pattisj on December 11, 2011 - 10:22 pm

    Your red berries give your blog the feel of Christmas. I don’t remember the taste of wild berries, but maybe I would recognize it if I found some. Fresh tomatoes from the vine remind me of my dad’s garden.

  4. #4 by beth on December 12, 2011 - 10:42 am

    oh the midwestern winters……lucky for us, we’ve been surrounded by sunshine. but OH SO COLD.
    and those red berries….don’t they just make you smile. we have those too and i always wonder if they get eaten by the birds since the seem so plentiful……xo

  5. #5 by Hilary on December 13, 2011 - 12:02 am

    That first image is just amazing. And now you’ve got me drooling for berries.

  6. #6 by ZORRO on December 13, 2011 - 10:06 am

    I love the two red berries with the teardrops!… I want berries…. uhmm….. Z!

  7. #7 by Marcie on December 14, 2011 - 8:04 am

    Amazing that you found blackberries at this time of year! A beautiful collection of frozen images!!!

Leave a Reply

