2012

We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.  ~Edith Lovejoy Pierce

I’m excited for 2012, I feel like it’s going to be a year filled with dynamic change. I love the surge of energy I get from a fresh new start. This morning I took a blank canvas and made this fun little painting to celebrate the new year.

Now, I’m sitting at the computer narrowing down my top 10 photos of 2011. I loved all the comments on my top 15 ~ Thank you. My husband rated each photo from 1- 10, he gave my backwards bumble bee bokeh shot a 4. I almost could not sleep because of that low rating! I love that photo, perhaps more because of the experience shooting it than the quality of the shot. I was inside a canopy of blooming peppercorn trees. There were thousands of bees pollinating, the hum of the wings was like a symphony. It was amazing to watch them work. I’ll never forget it. His problem with the photo is the focus and when he explained his confusion on where to look, I could see why he did not like it, so I dropped that one.

On to the next elimination… I let go of the caterpillar, the lighting that day was not ideal. I dropped the scrub jay, when I think about all of my bird photos, I think I like others better…the baby blue jay, the snow on the beak of this finch, or the way  this junco was looking back at me. Finally, I decided to drop my landscape shot & my street shot. These styles of photography intrigue me but I’m happiest when taking photos of natures intimate details, and I think sometimes that joy can be felt in the images.

Here are two collages of my top 10 final choices –

\

To answer a few questions…

Why did I create a top 10?

I love looking at and reading others year-end lists and reviews. I wanted to take the time to look at my photos and judge them individually. I’m amazed at what I have learned in this long process, it was so worth it.

Do I use Photoshop?

No ( not yet ) most of my photos are SOOC ( straight out of camera, except cropping ) sometimes I tweak the exposure or shadows inside iphoto. I look forward to actually learning and using Photoshop someday. Right now, I’m focusing my energy on learning all the ways to use my camera before I learn an editing program.

Did you do any type of year end review of 2011? If not, I highly recommend it. It may take some time, but I guarantee it will be worth it.

,

  1. #1 by pattisj on January 1, 2012 - 11:14 pm

    I like your canvas!

  2. #2 by Barbara S. on January 1, 2012 - 11:28 pm

    I’ve contemplated doing a ‘favorites of the year’ or something like that, but just haven’t had time to follow through. Maybe I’ll work on it this week…
    Love your collages and the 2012 painting! Wishing you the best in the new year!

  3. #3 by shea on January 2, 2012 - 7:31 pm

    i LOVe your painting. So so lovely and makes me want to jump in. YES. started a completion of 2011 and am creating 2012. It does take time, but is so fun. I will send you my collages accompanying my feelings and words.
    and my dear, i’d love to connect with you. i am just getting a hit that there is more for us to do together inside devotion, creation and action.
    hugs and love to you and z

  4. #4 by ZORRO on January 3, 2012 - 10:02 am

    Feliz Año Nuevo!!!…. keep on shooting!!!

  5. #5 by Amy on January 3, 2012 - 10:33 am

    i love the collages, especially the first one ~ it feels like you
    love u

  6. #6 by elk2 on January 3, 2012 - 8:51 pm

    a fabulous quote and what a hard job to pick a top 10 ..ALL of your photos are winners!

  7. #7 by Marcie on January 6, 2012 - 4:43 pm

    I think my year-end review is more internal…I like to explore what goes on inside assess from where I’ve been..and think about where I want to go. Your collages are absolutely exquisite!

Leave a Reply

