Here Comes the Sun

Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth. ~ Buddha

Each day that we get more sun, I feel more alive and filled with a renewed sense of possibility. Even though winter officially starts on December 21, solstice somehow feels like a half way point for me. As soon as the days start getting longer, I shift into knowing that things are getting brighter and some part of me thinks, oh good… winter will soon be over. It’s a weird way of thinking, but it seems to keep my spirits up on the cold gray days?

Luckily the sun has been shining bright the last few days and it feels so good!

For me, I think it would be ideal to live in the northern hemisphere May – October and the southern hemisphere November – April. Maybe someday.

What would be ideal for you?

, , ,

  1. #1 by sandy on January 7, 2012 - 9:38 am

    NIce! What is that in the second shot?
    We have sun this morning in southern Maine, and it sure feels good.

  2. #2 by JillsyGirl on January 7, 2012 - 11:02 am

    What glorious captures of the warmth of sunlight! I’m totally with you about the solstice even though the weather doesn’t coincide!

  3. #3 by Jo Bartha on January 7, 2012 - 11:20 am

    Beautiful…..I love the first one with the rainbow. And yes when your hair is as gray as mine, you can be the October-May person in the sunny south.

    xoxox

    jo

  4. #4 by Sheila on January 7, 2012 - 1:02 pm

    For me it is right where I am. Not too much sun – not too much snow (especially this year)!

  5. #5 by Amy on January 7, 2012 - 4:51 pm

    i was just thinking about that today, what would be ideal for me ~ at least as warm as san diego year-round with my family near by. i think about winter solstice the same way, on the way out of winter rather than on the way in. i love that first photo ~ love u

  6. #6 by Susan D on January 7, 2012 - 5:31 pm

    I have to admit, right here right now I am in the best place possible…ask me again tomorrow and the answer could change 🙂 Your shots are beautiful as always and I feel a bit envious that I am so accustomed to the sun that I don’t feel as fortunate as you…I am encouraged to be grateful for the beauty that is though…. I love you!

  7. #7 by Shea on January 7, 2012 - 7:19 pm

    i love the seeds with wings.
    i live in that question with jon all the time. ojai i think. and lots of money to fly home when i wanted.

  8. #8 by Hilary on January 7, 2012 - 10:00 pm

    Oh such lovely images.. the light in the first one is amazing. I keep thinking that I would be happy to have summer weather all of the time but I know full well that it’s the winter which makes me appreciate the other seasons more.

  9. #9 by pattisj on January 7, 2012 - 10:54 pm

    I think you have the right idea, splitting your time between the northern and summer hemisphere. Wish I’d thought of that sooner!

  10. #10 by pattisj on January 7, 2012 - 10:54 pm

    That should have said southern! Can you tell summer is on my mind??

Leave a Reply

