A Feather for You

The bird a nest, the spider a web, man friendship. ~ William Blake

Did you know that when you receive a feather it is a token of friendship and respect? One of my students in a creativity class I was teaching years ago gave me a beautiful note thanking me for the friendship I offered. She included a soft gray feather letting me know of this native american tradition. I still have it tucked into a jar filled with all the other feathers I find hiking. Every time I look at the jar full of feathers, I think about all of the friendships I cherish.

I wish I could give you this actual feather, hopefully the cyber version will suffice? I found this beautiful gray quill with a soft red tip a few months ago, each time I wander to the ponds out back, I look to see if it’s still stuck on the branch. I’m delighted each time I find it floating in the wind or tangled in the damp conditions. It’s so fun to have something to visit and check in on.

Once I walk past the feather I go check on my nest. The first time I found this tiny treasure, I was devastated to see the broken abandoned eggs, but that’s life, sometimes things just don’t work out. (Sometimes they do, I’ve found so many other wonderful empty nests). I’m so curious about what kind of bird used to live in this one, it’s pretty small, it could fit comfortably in the palm of my hand and the white eggs are about the size of jelly beans?

Do you have something or someone to visit on a regular basis?

, ,

  1. #1 by ameliaclaire92 on January 8, 2012 - 11:41 pm

    Love the shots of the feather. Beautiful. I don’t really have anyone to visit on a regular basis, but I’ve found that my daily blog posts bring me a sense of security and comfort.

  2. #2 by pattisj on January 9, 2012 - 12:12 am

    The size you describe made me think of a hummingbird, but they usually only have two eggs in a clutch. I find it interesting that your feather has stayed, and how the nest is affected through the seasons. I visited the butterfly larva regularly throughout the summer. 🙂

  3. #3 by sandy on January 9, 2012 - 7:12 am

    I am glad to know this. Your photos are so delicate, and lovely.

  4. #4 by ZORRO on January 9, 2012 - 8:17 am

    I visit my feathery princesa everyday!… wonderful.

  5. #5 by Shea on January 9, 2012 - 9:55 am

    wow

  6. #6 by Hilary on January 9, 2012 - 11:36 am

    Beautiful post, Christine. I love the downy feather.. it looks like it might be from a female cardinal. I also collect feathers which I find while walking. I have several clay containers holding them and one lovely feather keeper which was sent to me as a gift.

    The nest might well be a hummingbird’s as pattisj suggested.

  7. #7 by Didex on January 10, 2012 - 3:19 am

    Objects contained in these images are so very interesting, a combination of colors are displayed as if to bring me to keep looking into the subject of the photograph

  8. #8 by ladyfi on January 11, 2012 - 5:47 am

    What magical shots – love the soft feather and the iced nest.

    I always check on the lake and our pier.. I like seeing it in different kinds of light.

  9. #9 by Marcie on January 11, 2012 - 7:59 am

    What a beautiful post! I didn’t know that about feathers – and the tradition that goes with them. Love that you return to this nest – in all seasons. Really nice!

  10. #10 by jeanie on January 14, 2012 - 4:01 pm

    It’s been so long since I’ve had the time to sit down and savor your blog. I look at all these wonderful photos, of frost and warmth, of snow and droplets. I can’t comment on everything as much as I’d like. So I picked this one, partly because it is lovely, partly because it speaks of friendship. (And I didn’t know the feather story, either!). If I had one at had, I’d give you, my new friend of what — a year, maybe? That time has flown! — I’d give you a lovely feather with my thanks for the joy you bring my world.

    • #11 by Christine M Young on January 14, 2012 - 7:01 pm

      Thanks Jeanie 🙂

      The feather has a pile of snow on it today, it just keep hanging on.

Leave a Reply

