I Love Lisa


She is a friend of mind.  She gather me, man.  The pieces I am, she gather them and give them back to me in all the right order.  It’s good, you know, when you got a woman who is a friend of your mind.  ~Toni Morrison, Beloved

I was on the phone with my friend Lisa for hours today, we get into conversations sometimes that go in all kinds of directions. First we chatted about some aches and pains we are both trying to remedy… which led to a talk about the aging process and baby boomers… then it took a turn into ideas about house projects… which got us making plans to visit each other… somehow I started to download how I stayed up all night ( because of the aches & pains )… I was journaling and had some aha moments as I wrote that may shift my whole way of walking in the world bla bla bla… I went on and on in that punch drunk way that happens from not getting much sleep. In the last half hour she helped me understand how to proceed on my new website design. That could have also been part of the reason I was up all night. My mind has been swirling with new ideas for my new website.

I’m so grateful to have girlfriends who can dance around all of these topics all at once. I can’t even imagine having a similar conversation with my husband, though I’ve tried!

I seem to hike in a similar fashion, wandering off trail when something new calls at me. After I found the bark carved with ‘ I LOVE LISA’ all kinds of bark started to jump out and call me over, it’s taken me a few weeks to gather these…

A true friend is someone who thinks that you are a good egg even though (s)he knows that you are slightly cracked. ~ Bernard Meltzer

, , ,

  1. #1 by Lisa A on January 16, 2012 - 1:47 pm

    You found “I love Lisa” carved in a tree! — I just found new meaning in tree hugger. I’m all smiles with your post.

    Look, there’s my left knee — the one we were talking about — in the first collage and there’s us, peeling back the layers.

    Thank you beautiful friend!

  2. #2 by ZORRO on January 16, 2012 - 2:40 pm

    Great!!… love the one that looks like a bent knee!

  3. #3 by sandy on January 16, 2012 - 4:40 pm

    Great textures, and you know that is what makes a good shot!

  4. #4 by Susan D on January 16, 2012 - 8:22 pm

    I love Lisa too! And I miss you all … that picture popping out at me made me realize how much I do! And your photos are incredible and I see the knee…and the unfolding of layers and the growth on the north side and just the awe and beauty in all sort of new ways in that bark…all of them Christine are just …. beautiful. Thank you! and I love you…

  5. #5 by pattisj on January 16, 2012 - 11:30 pm

    Love these!

  6. #6 by Barbara S. on January 17, 2012 - 9:16 pm

    I have friends like Lisa and I know exactly what you mean! How cool you found that tree and all of the others are just gorgeous! Great collection!

  7. #7 by jeanie on January 21, 2012 - 10:25 am

    Oh, what a great post and how wonderful to have a friend like Lisa. I think we all do, and really, aren’t they the best? The tree is divinely serendipitous!

  8. #8 by JillsyGirl Studio on February 10, 2012 - 7:11 pm

    How serendipitous!!

  9. #9 by Liana on February 18, 2012 - 3:12 pm

    great post xx

Leave a Reply

