Anal Retentive Randomness

Don’t you ever let a soul in the world tell you that you can’t be exactly who you are. ~Lady Gaga

Perfect Path

Winter Web

Wallpaper Water

Frozen Stems

Divine Drips

Bokeh Berries

Perfect Position

Over the weekend I put together 5 different collections of photos to share with you, all with beautiful themes or color stories, but I finally settled on this random collection in a small attempt to let it be… let it be.

I’ve think I’ve spent over 20 years trying to learn how to NOT try too hard. Some of the  books I’ve read, workshops, therapists, and deep love poured into me from incredible family and friends rubs off and I can let down, let go, do less than I think I’m capable of, attempt to relax and just play,,, but for the most part it doesn’t last I soon find my way back to trying too hard… paying attention to every damn detail…Trying to get it right even when I know there is no Right.

The perfectionist side of me may always aches to create some kind of beautiful order from the chaos that life is?? It’s just part of my personality, I try too hard and that’s okay.

What part of your personality have you learned to embrace rather than TRY to fix?

, ,

  1. #1 by ladyfi on February 20, 2012 - 9:20 am

    Wow – these are so beautiful! Luckily, I’m not a perfectionist and I embrace that…

  2. #2 by Hilary on February 20, 2012 - 11:01 am

    Your photos are fantastic and your alliteration alluring.

    It’s the imperfections which make us human and all the more beautiful. I’m noticing one here and it makes me smile and enjoy you all the more. And nope, I’m not telling. 😉

  3. #3 by kate lynde on February 20, 2012 - 12:22 pm

    well, your trying to hard pays off in the focus of your beautiful photos..i love the swan’s neck curved against the curves in the water…very striking! Aloowing things to be as they are and not trying to fix or care take others and self is one of my characteristics i have to work at….

  4. #4 by Amy on February 20, 2012 - 1:28 pm

    i love the curve of the path and the swan’s neck, they feel similar to me. they make me want to draw a correlation with perfectionism, i was looking for something imperfect in them and couldn’t find it, maybe that is what the swan and the path would say to us if they looked at our photo…. ? not trying too hard to be messily profound and laughing at the same time, as you know, i share your tendencies toward perfectionism and have no answers

  5. #5 by Barbara on February 20, 2012 - 1:47 pm

    I totally sympathize! It seems my best work comes with the least stress, but I still insist on stressing on perfection anyway. Love this collection and your taglines for them!

  6. #6 by ZORRO on February 20, 2012 - 2:14 pm

    Love “The Perfect Path”!…. awesome pictures, makes me want to indulge even more!

  7. #7 by Shea on February 20, 2012 - 6:49 pm

    these are delightful. i love each one. the wallpaper has me thinking you are the perfect – ha! – person to consult me on the forest green bathroom tile and countertop we are inheriting in our new home (yes!)
    what a great inquiry….
    my seriousness – which has, ironically, lead to more laughing.
    love you!

  8. #8 by Kitty Danke Rothwell on February 20, 2012 - 9:29 pm

    I love these pictures. I think I need “The Perfect Path” for my Christine Young collection.

  9. #9 by pattisj on February 21, 2012 - 12:18 am

    Interesting “wallpaper” pattern on the water, moire. Lovely shots as always–wouldn’t mind meandering on that path.

  10. #10 by Jennifer Isenhart on February 21, 2012 - 1:01 pm

    I love the Bokeh Berries and the shallow depth of that sparkling shot. So pretty. I also like the reminder to try not to try so hard. I have that same issue and it’s a good reminder for me, too! Love you. Miss you!

  11. #11 by redorgray2 on February 21, 2012 - 3:14 pm

    I so understand your struggle … this photo series is unique and truly beautiful..so happy to take it in today!

  12. #12 by JillsyGirl Studio on February 21, 2012 - 8:39 pm

    I love that first one but they are all wonderful.

    And I can totally sympathize with your sentiments, especially when it comes to photography. There’s just something about an image that always makes me think I can make it better.

  13. #13 by Marcie on February 24, 2012 - 8:11 am

    You made me laugh. I so know that feeling – of having put together so many different options..and then finally just settling. Love your ‘random’ choices here.

  14. #14 by jeanie on February 25, 2012 - 8:54 am

    This is a fabulous collection — and the one called “Perfect Path” is indeed, perfect.

Leave a Reply

